Decide Who You Will Be in 2023

What are you answering to?

Donna Brown
5 min readDec 22, 2022
A person’s hand holding an old fashioned telephone
Photo by Elena Koycheva on Unsplash

My husband always told my children when they complained that someone called them a name, “It ain’t what they call you. It’s what you answer to.” He got that from an old W. C Fields’ line.

One of the most profound things that I learned in 2022 was “I never fail, I either win or learn. ”I wrote about it in my article Never Fail Again.

I started a publication called Tightening the Belt. Which has acted as steppingstone to a regional book series that I am writing with a friend in 2023.

What I am answering to in 2023

In 2023, I am answering to the names Ozarks region writer and publisher. I am also answering to the name of Ozark Granny for our book Ozark Grannies’ Secrets. I am throwing myself into those titles that I am calling myself. No longer will I consider myself a loser or a failure. I am a winner which is another name I call myself.

I am a learner. I never fail to learn something new every day. If nothing else, I am learning Spanish using the Duolingo course and have been for over 500 days. Probably most important, I am learning how to run my business better this year than I have ever done in the past. I am working to build a business that will take me to what I hope will be my next big title…

--

--

Donna Brown

Gardener, homesteader, chicken farmer, teacher, and Author of The Locket Saga, a fictional American Historical Family and the Perpetual Homesteader Blog https:/