Never Fail Again

Change your paradigm of what success is and achieve more

Donna Brown
4 min readDec 8, 2022
A nyon light sign saying “People Fail Forward To Success on a brick wall”
Photo by Ian Kim on Unsplash

I was working at our local high school a few weeks ago. I was on Cafeteria duty when I saw a note handwritten on a blackboard in the corner of the room. The note was scrawled in chalk and the first line said,

“I never fail”

I thought that was a curious statement. How was that possible? so I read the second line:

“I either. . .”

I either what?

The third line had the answer.

“Win or Learn”

That statement opened a whole new paradigm for me. I don’t ever have to look at anything I do ever again as a failure. I never again have to see myself as a failure either. If I win and get what I want, of course, I win. That’s the easy part. However, if the results are not exactly what I was looking for, I still win if I learned something in the process. The secret to never failing is to learn from what didn’t go right.

What I read on the blackboard scrawled in chalk didn’t originate there. The idea was a practice that someone else had used over a hundred years ago.

It’s a Lesson from Edison

--

--

Donna Brown

Gardener, homesteader, chicken farmer, teacher, and Author of The Locket Saga, a fictional American Historical Family and the Perpetual Homesteader Blog https:/