Create A Better You This Year!

Changing your habits one minute at a time

Donna Brown
4 min readJan 30, 2024
an hour glass with sand running through it
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

The other day, I read an idea that stuck with me. An individual states that id ten small habits in ten minutes every morning. I decided that I would do the same only would choose my own ten items. I started creating a list that I could do in one minute. What I realized in the process is that I don’t have to do all these things all at once. I can do them throughout the day a minute here and a minute there. Plus, I can build on any of those activities that I did for one minute over time.

Building on the one-minute habit

I can build a minute of exercise up to five minutes in a month, fifteen minutes in two months, and half an hour in three months, and in those three months, I would have built a routine that would have become an easy-to-develop habit. However, if I don’t want to build up exercising for 30 minutes and just want to stay with just five, fifteen, or even just that one minute, that’s fine too. It might not be optimal, but at least I am getting some movement into my day. If I can’t do 30 minutes on a specific day, I can do less. Even one minute of exercising would still keep the momentum going.

Almost any habit that I want to develop can be started in just one minute per day.

--

--

Donna Brown

Gardener, homesteader, chicken farmer, teacher, and Author of The Locket Saga, a fictional American Historical Family and the Perpetual Homesteader Blog https:/